While in Roeselare District Belgium, enjoy these local sights.
Pompeschitters the nickname of the Dadizele residents. This refers back to a story about a local man. He had been out drinking and eating prunes. On his way home he couldn’t wait and was obliged to do his “business” at the first pump site.
There is a statue (Pompeschitter) in the park as a tribute to the local story.
Here is a list of local refreshments.
An easily digestible paté with bacon and ham, weighs about 300 grams.
A delicious pie made of short crust pastry with apricot, pineapple, plum compote and almond flakes.
A sweet brown beer with high fermentation.Website
*Basilica of Our Lady
Construction started in 1857. It is a basilica minor. (The title of basilica major is reserved for churches in Rome.) The tomb of Jan van Veerdeghem , which is better known as Jan of Dadizele, is in the crypt of the basilica along with his wife, spurs, gloves and sword. He was knighted by Archduke Maximilian of Austria in 1481 after he was murdered in Antwerp. He played a major role in the management of conflicts between the Archduke and the city and between the Archduke and French King Louis XI. Enjoy the alabaster image of the Madonna with child.
Stained glass windows tell the history of the church and several facts from the life of Mary.Website
According to legend, after the kidnapping in Senlis in 862, Baldwin with the Iron Arm, Count of Flanders, and Judith, the daughter of Charles the Bald fled to the fortress that used to be at the very location where the present castle now stands. With the intervention of the Pope, the two lovers married in Auxerre, which resulted in the creation of the County of Flanders.
The counts of Thiennes and the Limburg Stirum owned it for centuries until the castle suffered damage during the invasion of Flanders by French king Louis XIV, as well as during the French Revolution and in both world wars more than a century later. The Germans took over during WWI. Baron Manfred von Richthofen, better known as the Red Baron, lived there for a short time. The Baron shot down 80 enemy aircraft in his brightly painted red airplane. If you watch the movie ‘That Lucky Touch’, you will see the castle. It’s a comedy partially shot in Rumbeke in 1975, starring Roger Moore and Shelley Winters.
Check out their website for the latest exhibit and tour information.Website
This estate provides a home for mentally and physically handicapped people. They have a barn with animals, a garden and ponds. The Park has wine, food and cheese festivals throughout the year. Featuring some of the cheese made by the residents. A list from the shop:
THE GATE SHOP (shop Mariënstede)
Cakes, jams, chocolates, syrups, chocolates, gift boxes, wine boxes, chairs, plants, vegetables, dried herbs and begat, greeting cards and paper. From their “craft cheese “ : lean natural and fruit yoghurt, whey, cream, and various cheeses.
The castle has suffered damages and been partially rebuilt. It’s origins trace back to the 1400’s.
*Eperon d’ Or
(shoe and brush museum)
Izegem was once very well known for their brush and shoe factories. A few are still in existence. The shoe and brush museum welcomes you to their new location which opened in April of 2016.
The shoe museum and story of Eperon d’Or begins in the nineteenth century with Emiel Vandommele, a famous disciple of the master shoemaker Eduard Dierick, who made all the royal boots for William I (ruler over Holland and, back then Belgium, from (1815-1830) and Leopold I (first King of the Belgians following Belgian independence in 1830). Emiel founded his shoe company Eperon d’Or (French for golden spur) in 1863. It doesn’t pertain to the spurs battle, but the love that Emiel harbored for horses.
The company had no permanent location and moved regularly, but in 1870 the 80 employees produced 15,000 pairs of shoes per year. In 1910, the company eventually became settled in its own factory in the current location of the museum. Vandommele specialized in luxury shoes, especially for women. Izegem presented itself as the place to shop for quality shoes.
The entire industry went through drastic changes and were hit hard in the 1960’s. There was increased competition from Italy and Eastern Europe. In 1967 the company went bankrupt. Luckily the buildings became protected and could be transformed to the museum. The museum also features 3000 shoe gems, 3700 shoes, and changes the displays out on a regular basis. The museum offers the most detailed process of shoe making.
*Eperon d’ Or
(shoe and brush museum)
The Brush Museum offers a history of brush manufacturing, and features a variety of brushes (including a brush made to clean the top and bottom of a pizza oven at the same time and a wine cork brush).
Izegem’s companies have been making brushes since 1770. The business increased around 1950 when Edward Deryckere imported vegetable raw materials from South Asia. This allowed for production of a cheaper brush. In the 1920s, the British bought 70% of their production. The Izegem brush industry reached a peak in 1930 with a workforce of 3000 people. Izegem is still a center for broom and brush manufacturing, and currently has six companies in Izegem, and the immediate vicinity, making household brushes, painter brushes, hair brushes and wire brushes. The Boucherie company manufactures machines for making brooms and household industrial brushes. It has become one of the world’s largest suppliers of automated brush manufacturing machines.
The museum has shoe (1950-1960) and brush machines (1899-1970) on display. Make arrangements ahead of your tour to see extra machines not on feature.
This village is mentioned in 3 legends. The first legend, explains why the original church was built. Based on local legend, long ago a wealthy man had 2 black oxen. One day the oxen disappeared, and couldn’t be found. That night, a local hermit prayed to Mary for the oxen to be found. Mary appeared to him and explained that the wealthy man would never see his black oxen again but had to go to the woods, he would find 2 white oxen there. In return he had to build a chapel dedicated to her.
The next day the man went and found the white oxen, Out of gratitude, he had a chapel built. People from far and close came to pray to Mary.
The second legend takes place after the church’s completion. A couple of notables decided to ask the local bishop to consecrate the church. As the notables’ journey, they meet a pious woman. The woman talked of Mary and how she had already ordained the church, so there was no need to ask the bishop. When she saw the skepticism on their faces she promised upon their return, they would find a red silk thread around the church with healing powers. It would have no beginning or end, to prove she spoke the truth. Upon their immediate return, they did indeed find it as described.
The original thread was stolen.
(Continued in next column).Website
A third legend occurs during Christmas. The officer (known as the sacristan) in charge of the sacristy (place the church keeps records and sacred vessels) was ill and the liturgy couldn’t be sung. Services would have to be cancelled. That night, Mary appeared to John Onraet, an illiterate man with no musical skill. Mary told him to tell the pastor that he would sing the liturgy. John assumed he was dreaming, and fell back asleep. Whereas Mary appeared to him a second time, showing him a book she had placed under his pillow. He showed the book to the pastor and successfully sang the liturgy for the service. He did it for many years. These legends have and still prompt people on pilgrimages to the churchWebsite
If you happen to be on the bicycling trail @ #75. Stop by this shop for a picturesque break.
*WWI German Bunker
During World War I Dadizele/Moorslede, was at the edge of the combat zone. This is shown by the different bunkers of the two-chamber type, which are throughout the municipality of Moorslede on Oliekotstraat, and the New British Cemetery in Dadizele.
Click here for our blog on WWI